400 Years Ago…

On May 2, 1611 The Authorized Version, or as it is more commonly known as the King James Version, of the Bible was published.  For over 300 years it was the only English Bible available and even today it is the most quoted.  While I am very critical of the Bible, I want to make it clear that I respect it and the impact it has had on people’s lives.  I have a few different versions of the Bible in my library but, here is a picture of my KJV Bible.

20110501-082819.jpg

I can honestly say this is the crown jewel of my library.  Not because I believe the Bible to be infallible but, because I know that this particular version was the one the founding fathers of our great country read.  And although some of them were critical of it as well, most of them revered it and the morals that are within it.  Nothing man can ever do will ever be perfect, however on this anniversary of the all-time best-selling book in the English language, I will give it the respect it deserves with a quote in its beautiful tongue:

Ecclesiastes 3:1-11 (KJV)

To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven:
A time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up that which is planted;
A time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up;
A time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance;
A time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together; a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing;
A time to get, and a time to lose; a time to keep, and a time to cast away;
A time to rend, and a time to sew; a time to keep silence, and a time to speak;
A time to love, and a time to hate; a time of war, and a time of peace.
What profit hath he that worketh in that wherein he laboureth?
I have seen the travail, which God hath given to the sons of men to be exercised in it.
He hath made every thing beautiful in his time: also he hath set the world in their heart, so that no man can find out the work that God maketh from the beginning to the end.

© Nelson Rose, The Quest for Light

2 thoughts on “400 Years Ago…

    • Jim,

      Obviously math is a weakness of mine – especially when I am blogging while watching the live news on Osama Bin Laden’s well deserved demise.

      I really hope me being critical does not offend you. I am actually preparing a blog post that covers my position on the Bible in more detail (it will be a doosey). Its my position though, I don’t mean to influence anyone to change their beliefs with exception to atheist – there is just to much intelligent design to deny the existence of a Creator. The blog is also a journal of my own personal quest to find the most sublime truths and get closer to our Creator.

      Thank you so much for dropping by.

      Like

Leave a Reply

